similar to that in the other provinces, whereas the Roman Catholic system is patterned somewhat after the French education system and is unique in Canada. The difference in religion is accentuated by the difference in language—teaching in most Roman Catholic schools is carried out in French and in the Protestant schools, with perhaps one or two exceptions, in English. Private schools are financed and administered by private organizations and comprise schools for infants, elementary and secondary schools, classical colleges, commercial schools and institutions giving courses at university level. Public schools are maintained through local taxes supplemented by provincial subsidies and are administered by school commissions whose members are elected in accordance with the Education Act; they are free and accessible to all children of school age.

Up to and including grade 7 in the Roman Catholic public schools, classes consist of pre-school and elementary courses. The secondary program includes a general section and a scientific section, in addition to which some public schools offer a commercial section, a 12th-year special course, and a classical section. English-language Roman Catholic schools follow their own program in primary and secondary education. For the first two years at secondary level, all students are grouped in the general section and for the last two years the course is divided into general, commercial and college preparatory—the latter leading to entrance into the English-language universities. Some schools offer a 12th-year course corresponding to the first year of university. The Protestant public schools teach a seven-year primary course and a four-year secondary course, divided into three sections. Two of these sections lead to examinations for the High School Leaving Certificate with which the student may proceed to university.

Private schools, both Roman Catholic and Protestant, give education equivalent to that of the public schools. However, at the secondary level there exist the classical colleges, which are the reservoir from which the Roman Catholic universities obtain a great number of their students. Most classical colleges teach an eight-year classical course which leads to the baccalaureate degree (bachelor of arts).

There is considerable emphasis placed on special education in Quebec which includes tuition in the arts, industrial and technical studies and courses in agriculture, the latter including household science.

In Quebec, education has recently been undergoing rapid change and the trend is to provide an organization more closely resembling that in the other provinces in which there is a unified governmental authority at the provincial level. Following the recommendations of the Royal Commission of Inquiry on Education (constituted early in 1961 and issuing the first volume of its Report early in 1964), the Quebec Legislature in the Spring of 1964 passed Bill 60 providing for the creation of a new administrative structure for Quebec's education system. The Department of Youth and the Department of Public Instruction have been replaced by a Department of Education. The former Minister of Youth has been appointed Minister of Education and the former head of the Planning Bureau in the Department of Youth has been named Deputy Minister. The latter is assisted by two Associate Deputy Ministers—one for the Roman Catholic sector and the other for the Protestant sector. Also abolished by the new Act is the Council of Public Instruction (and its Catholic and Protestant Committees of 44 and 22 members, respectively), which long constituted the real authority over the separately administered Catholic and Protestant public school systems. In its stead, as a purely consultative body in education policy-making, there is being set up (July 1964) a representative body entitled the Superior Council of Education, intended to provide a channel of communication between the public and the Ministry and assist in keeping the education system in constant contact with the evolution of society.

The Yukon and Northwest Territories.—In the Yukon Territory, the school system is operated by the Territorial Government through a superintendent of schools and the Territorial civil service at Whitehorse, responsible to the Commissioner of the Yukon. It includes public schools with high school departments at Whitehorse and Dawson and public schools at such other settlements as Haines Junction, Mayo and Teslin. St. Mary's Separate School operates in Dawson as a day school and the Convent of Christ